Ceremonial Music for brass quintet,
by Steve Matchett

I. March (middle) - II. Sarabande (beginning) -
III. Canon (ending) - IV. Meditation (ending) - V. Finale (ending)
performed by the Sam Houston Brass Quintet,
brass faculty of Sam Houston State University
© 2001 Gulf Wind Music Press

Difficulty level:
Advanced High School/College

Ceremonial Music for brass quintet (op. 20) was composed in 2001.
The movements are I. March, II. Sarabande, III. Canon, IV. Meditation, and V. Finale.

This work was composed with both concert performance and practical usage in mind. The "March" can be used for events where processional music is needed. The "Sarabande," "Canon," and "Finale" are highly contrapuntal and were influenced by baroque models. The "Meditation" is the most modern harmonically of the five movements. All these movements can provide a contemporary and accessible alternative for many types of occasions.
- Steve D. Matchett 1/28/2008

Composed in 2001. Premiered May 2001 at the University of Houston, Houston, TX, USA by the Houston Lyric Brass.
Instrumentation: 2 tpts, hn, tbn, tb
Timing: 13' 10"
Publisher: Gulf Wind Music Press

© 2008 Gulf Wind Music Press
contact us
ref: http://www.gulfwindmusic.com/ceremonial.html
last revised March 15, 2008